Who provides security to security providers?

Our kreuzwerker experts designed and implemented the AWS infrastructure for secure, Internet payment processing for and together with Deutsche Payment.

The Project

Our team of cloud experts have been already involved in the design and implementation of the Deutsche Payment infrastructure in AWS. Using Terraform (Infrastructure as Code) was set to be our baseline. Preparing the AWS cloud environment for further automation and PCI/DSS re-certification of the customers service landscape was our mission. To do so the creation of hardened Amazon Machine Images (AMI) as well as providing a mechanism for verified code check-ins became necessary.

The Problem

By using AWS’ auto-scaling and self-healing infrastructure to host applications, the foundations are prepared for golden AMI usage. The target machines must follow Center for Internet Security (CIS) guidelines and have to contain the verified software for fast start-up times.

The Solution

A multi-stage build process was implemented by using AWS CodeCommit, CodeBuild and CodePipeline. The first stages check that commits are signed by a permitted author, only then the build continues. By using HashiCorps packer and modern Amazon Linux 2, CIS rules are applied to the AMI before baking in the actual software and encrypting the volume. As an additional management tool, AWS Inspector is added to permanently monitor running instances on compliance.

Our Contribution

kreuzwerker designed the process together with the Deutsche Payment and described the infrastructure in Terraform. We also provided tools to update running applications in-place with new AMI as well as housekeeping functionality.

The Benefit

By setting up an automated build process, the resulting environment is always benefitting from updated and AWS managed security patches and threat knowledge, while putting the applications under full compliance monitoring using AWS Inspector.

The Upshot

Hardening the used infrastructure from the very beginning and permanently monitoring it on compliance using the full AWS feature set enables the Deutsche Payment to further develop their offerings, while running it fully scalable and secure on fully managed AWS IaaS.

Deutsche Payment offers a wide range of experience in payment processing and uses the most modern and secure technology for business payment solutions. The Company is primarily involved with the development of industry and provider solutions, with additional services included in the company’s diverse solution portfolio.

Wer gibt denen Sicherheit, die Sicherheit geben müssen?

Unsere Experten von kreuzwerker haben für und gemeinsam mit Deutsche Payment die AWS-Infrastruktur für sichere Zahlungsabwicklung im Internet konzipiert und implementiert.

Das Projekt

Unsere Experten von kreuzwerker waren schon an der Konzeption und Implementierung der Deutschen Payment Infrastruktur in AWS beteiligt. Terraform und Infrastructure als Code sind hier ein fixer Ausgangspunkt. Um die Umgebung für die weitere Automatisierung und PCI/DSS-Rezertifizierung vorzubereiten, wurde die Erstellung von Hardened Amazon Machine Images (AMI) aus verifizierten Code-Check-Ins erforderlich.

Das Problem

Durch die Nutzung der Auto-Scaling- und Self-Healing-Infrastruktur von AWS für das Hosting von Anwendungen werden die Grundlagen für Golden AMI geschaffen. Die Zielcomputer müssen den Richtlinien des Center for Internet Security (CIS) entsprechen und die verifizierte Software für kurze Startup-Zeiten enthalten.

Die Lösung

Ein mehrstufiger Build-Prozess wurde mit AWS CodeCommit, CodeBuild und CodePipeline implementiert. Im Zuge der ersten Schritte wird geprüft, ob die Commits von einem zulässigen Autor signiert sind, erst dann wird der Build fortgesetzt. Durch den Einsatz des HashiCorps-Packers und des modernen Amazon Linux 2 werden die CIS-Regeln auf AMI angewendet, bevor die eigentliche Software eingebrannt und das Volume verschlüsselt wird. Als zusätzliches Management-Tool kommt AWS Inspector hinzu, um laufende Instanzen permanent auf Compliance überwachen zu können.

Unser Beitrag

kreuzwerker hat den Prozess gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Payment konzipiert und die Infrastruktur in Terraform beschrieben. Von uns stammen auch die Tools, um laufende Anwendungen vor Ort mit neuen AMI- und Housekeeping-Funktionen zu aktualisieren.

Vorteile

Durch die Einrichtung eines automatisierten Build-Prozesses profitiert die resultierende Umgebung immer von aktualisierten und von AWS verwalteten Sicherheitspatches und dem Wissen um Bedrohungen, während die Anwendungen mit dem AWS Inspector vollständig überwacht werden.

Fazit

Weil die benutzte Infrastruktur von Anfang an gestärkt und permanent auf Compliance mit dem vollen AWS-Feature-Set überwacht wird, kann die Deutsche Payment ihr Angebot weiter entwickeln und auf vollständig verwalteten AWS IaaS skalierbar und sicher betreiben.

Die Deutsche Payment verfügt über ein breites Erfahrungsspektrum in der Zahlungsabwicklung und nutzt die modernste und sicherste Technologie für geschäftliche Zahlungslösungen. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt sich in erster Linie mit der Entwicklung von Branchen- und Anbieterlösungen, wobei auch Zusatzdienste zum vielfältigen Lösungsportfolio des Unternehmens gehören.