Review DWSC 2019 Digital Workplace Summit by communardo

We had the pleasure of co-sponsoring the latest communardo event in Hamburg. A day packed with interesting presentations and great conversations.

Thank you!

Thanks to everyone involved for organizing such a nice summit. The location was great and offered a fantastic panoramic view of Hamburg. In addition to the lectures and workshops, there was an exhibition of partners and solution providers.

The Exhibitors

catworkx, phat consulting, Yasoon, Re:solution, comalatech, Decadis, Seibert Media, Coyo, nintex, bitvodoo, Beezy, harmon .ie, Staffbase, Surface

The Sponsors

DWSC 2019 Sponsors

Key takeaways

In general, there was a sharp increase in the number of Microsoft partners, solutions and presentations. Companies are using both Microsoft and Atlassian to provide their employees and teams with the right solution. You can find the event’s agenda here!

The Presentations

Guido Bosbach, keynote speaker

Guido Bosbach, keynote speaker

Guido Bosbach’s keynote speech on the topic “The fish stinks from the head. Why and how we have to rethink management and leadership to make the future work” dealt with the change of mindsets in companies and especially the task of leadership in companies. (PDF of the presentation).
His theses are that an understanding of management and leadership must find its way into the company, that it must move away from traditional structures and offer more than isolated agile solutions, cultural change prescribed by the above and modern collaboration tools. In his opinion, companies need structures and processes that offer freedom, and enable work everywhere and make self-organization the standard.

Thomas Mickeleit, Microsoft

Thomas Mickeleit, Microsoft

Mensch, Raum, Technologie - Erfolgsfaktoren für die New World of Work” by Thomas Mickeleit (Microsoft) gave an interesting insight into the current position of digital change at Microsoft. He also emphasized that digital change does not mean providing new tools, but that it must extend to all areas of a company and its employees.

For people, this means more exchange with each other. More communication.

New spaces have been created. Microsoft had its headquarters in Munich Schwabing completely rebuilt in order to create rooms for different needs. There are open-plan offices for everyone work in, but retreats have also been created to be able to make phone calls, work in a concentrated manner or hold meetings.

Last but not least, these tools provide the technology which enables collaboration and exchange. At Microsoft these are Outlook, SharePoint, Yammer, the Office Apps and as a new product: Teams.

Markus Lobak & Thomas Klaghofer-Heinzle Julius Blum GmbH

Markus Lobak & Thomas Klaghofer-Heinzle Julius Blum GmbH

Another very interesting insight was provided by the lecture “COOPERATION.NEW.THINK. from the diaries of the DWP guerrillas” by Markus Lobak and Thomas Klaghofer-Heinzle from Julius Blum GmbH, a supplier of furniture fittings from Austria with an international presence.
An internal IT team was installed there for the digital workstation. They have set up an internal project “NEXT Einfach.Vernetzt.Arbeiten.Wissen” and thus communicated their goals within the company.

  • Simplifying collaboration through modern work methods and modern IT applications
  • Support employee networking
  • Leverage digital collaboration opportunities and enable employees to work efficiently
  • Document, share and make information and knowledge accessible within the company.

The first reaction: the IT department is enthusiastic, many employees are skeptical or get scared.
The project team begins to compare the previous work method with the new one and to compare the personal productivity with the one offered by teamwork with modern work methods. The former is less difficult for employees, but has less impact. Organizing as a team means more impact and added value by sharing new tools and ways of working. It is more difficult in the beginning, but is much more effective. It leads to more transparency and more open communication in the team. The employees are more connected, which intensifies the spreading co-operation and thereby leads to more speed and flexibility. Keyword agility. Information and knowledge are made available company-wide, the coordination loops are shortened or completely eliminated.
Their experience in the NEXT project is that it is very important to focus on the benefits for the employee. You have to be courageous and allow people to do things. Leaders must be actively integrated from the start. It is important to have a vision and to communicate it continuously. At the same time, space and time are needed for everyone to gain their own experience. The project team has always actively accompanied the employees.

All in all: The introduction of the digital workstation is not just a “sideline”.

Swetlana Heidebrecht & Antonia Richter, Springer

Swetlana Heidebrecht & Antonia Richter, Springer

The next lecture I attended - and winner of the public voting “Best lecture” - came from two employees of Axel Springer, Swetlana Heidebrecht and Antonia Richter. They spoke on the topic “Deep Work - focused work in a world full of distractions” and thus obviously from the hearts of many people present.

After a very interesting presentation of an investigation into how we spend our working day…

  • 85% of the time we spend on communication and collaboration (meetings, phone calls etc.)
  • 15% with work
  • 25% of the performance is lost through the pure presence of the smartphone
    About every 10 minutes We are interrupted or interrupt ourselves about every 10 minutes.

… introduce the Deep Work concept and how you brought it into the company at Springer and still do.

E.g. by different work hacks that help to find the way to focused work. One example is the so-called Pomodoro technique (named after a kitchen alarm clock in tomato form) which divides work into 25-minute steps and intersperses it with short breaks. A longer break follows four 25-minute periods. This technique assumes that the breaks increase the ability to think.

The focused work should also take place in teams. At Springer, retrospectives are held that should be as trouble-free as possible. In addition they agreed on meeting rules, which eliminate the disturbances (telephones, opened laptop, typing besides etc.) if possible, and refer also again and again to these rules. Even if this process is sometimes annoying, it is still important in order to achieve more focused work in a team.

Peggy Kautz & Swen Göbbels, Panasonic

Peggy Kautz & Swen Göbbels, Panasonic

This was followed by a lecture by Panasonic employees Peggy Kautz and Swen Göbbels - 100 years of Panasonic, 100 years of BT (before teams) in the Microsoft 365 Empowerment series. Panasonic has also started its own project to accompany the digital change in the company.

Denny Phung, Heidelberger Druckmaschinen

Denny Phung, Heidelberger Druckmaschinen

The lecture by Danny Phung from Heidelberger Druckmaschinen “Our Journey to the #digital - A Travel Report on the Digitization of the Workplace at Heidelberger Druckmaschinen”, described the change in the digital workplace as a journey with very different travel groups on board; which by the way is a very successful metaphor. There are “Globetrotter-Backpacker”, “I-always-go-camper”, “Do-we-have-all-inclusive-” and “Without-German-speaking tour-leaders-we-don’t-need-to-go-there” on board. In order to successfully implement a change, the “tour guide” should have experience with expectation management, motivation, frustration and despair.

Conclusion

This is a selection of lectures whose common theme is that change in the world of work is taking place and we need to find ways to deal with it. People and their diversity should always be the focus, as well as, the diversity of processes and needs. It takes time, patience and expertise to accompany and implement change.

Communardo once again held a raffle this year. The prizes could be won by visiting the exhibitors’ stands. Always a very successful opportunity to talk to them. The day ended with some finger food, drinks and nice conversations.

DWSC2019 Gallery

Next DWSC 2020

Save the date: 03.11.2020 in Frankfurt/Main

Rückblick auf den DWSC 2019 Digital Workplace Summit by communardo

Wir hatten das Vergnügen Co-Sponsor vom Digital Workplace Summit von communardo in Hamburg zu sein. Ein Tag vollgepackt mit interessanten Vorträgen und tollen Gesprächen.

Danke

Danke an alle Beteiligten für die tolle Organisation des Events. Die Location war großartig und bot einen phantastischen Rundumblick über Hamburg. Neben den Vorträgen und Workshops gab es eine Ausstellung von Partnern und Lösungsanbietern.

Die Aussteller

catworkx, phat consulting, Yasoon, Re:solution, comalatech, Decadis, Seibert Media, Coyo, nintex, bitvodoo, Beezy, harmon .ie, Staffbase, Surface

Die Sponsoren

DWSC 2019 Sponsors

Was war drin?

Generell war ein stark gestiegener Anteil an Microsoft Partnern, Lösungen und Vorträgen zu bemerken. Unternehmen setzen Microsoft und Atlassian gemeinsam ein, um Ihren Mitarbeitern und Teams die für sie passenden Lösung anbieten zu können. Hier die komplette Agenda.

Die Vorträge

Guido Bosbach, keynote speaker

Guido Bosbach, keynote speaker

Die Keynote von Guido Bosbach zum Thema „Der Fisch stinkt vom Kopf her. Warum und wie wir Management & Führung neu denken müssen, damit Zukunft funktioniert.“ befasste sich mit der Änderung der Mindsets in Unternehmen und speziell die Aufgabe von Führung in Unternehmen. (PDF der Präsentation).

Seine Thesen sind, dass im Unternehmen ein Management- und Führungsverständnis Einzug halten muss, dass sich von althergebrachten Strukturen löst und mehr anbietet als agile Insellösungen, von oben verordneten Kulturwandel und moderne Collaboration Tools. Seiner Meinung nach benötigen Unternehmen Strukturen und Prozesse, die Freiraum bieten, Arbeit überall ermöglichen und Selbstorganisation zum Standard machen.

Thomas Mickeleit, Microsoft

Thomas Mickeleit, Microsoft

Mensch, Raum, Technologie – Erfolgsfaktoren für die New World of Work von Thomas Mickeleit (Microsoft) gab einen interessanten Einblick in die aktuelle Aufstellung von Microsoft innerhalb des Unternehmens im digitalen Wandel. Auch er betont, dass der digitale Wandel nicht das Bereitstellen neuer Tools bedeutet, sondern sich auf alle Bereiche eines Unternehmens und der Mitarbeiter ausweiten muss.

Für die Menschen bedeutet das mehr in den Austausch miteinander zu gehen. Ein Mehr an Kommunikation.

Neue Räume wurden geschaffen. Microsoft hat die Zentrale in München Schwabing komplett umbauen lassen, um diese Räume für unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse zu schaffen. Es gibt Großraumbüros, um in die Arbeit aller involviert zu sein, es wurden aber auch Rückzugsorte geschaffen, um Telefonieren zu können, konzentriert arbeiten zu können oder Meetings abzuhalten.

Die Tools stellen zu guter Letzt die Technik zur Verfügung, um die Zusammenarbeit und den Ausstausch zu ermöglichen. Bei Microsoft sind das Outlook, SharePoint, Yammer, die Office Apps und als neues Produkt Teams.

Markus Lobak & Thomas Klaghofer-Heinzle Julius Blum GmbH

Markus Lobak & Thomas Klaghofer-Heinzle Julius Blum GmbH

Einen weiteren sehr interessanten Einblick bot der Vortrag „ZUSAMMENARBEIT.NEU.DENKEN. Aus den Tagebüchern der DWP-Guerillas“ von Markus Lobak und Thomas Klaghofer-Heinzle von der Julius Blum GmbH, ein Zulieferer von Möbelbeschlägen aus Österreich, das international aufgestellt ist.

Hier wurde ein internes Team aus der Informatik für den digitalen Arbeitsplatz installiert, dessen Selbstbeschreibung einen guten Eindruck von dem Prozess vor Ort gibt: DWP-Geburtshelfer, -Prediger, -Berater, -Gestalter, Unruhestifter, Zusammenarbeits-Guerilla, Krisenmanager, Coach, Übersetzer.

Sie haben ein internes Projekt aufgesetzt „NEXT Einfach.Vernetzt.Arbeiten.Wissen“ und ihre Ziele somit im Unternehmen kommuniziert.

  • Zusammenarbeit vereinfachen durch moderne Arbeitsweise und moderne IT Anwendungen
  • Vernetzung der Mitarbeiter unterstützen
  • Möglichkeiten digitaler Zusammenarbeit nutzen und den Mitarbeitern effizientes Arbeiten ermöglichen
  • Information und Wissen im Unternehmen dokumentieren, teilen und zugänglich machen.

Die erste Reaktion: die IT Abteilung ist begeistert, viele Mitarbeiter sind skeptisch oder bekommen Angst.

Das Projektteam beginnt, die bisherige Arbeitsweise der neuen gegenüberzustellen und die persönliche Produktivität mit der zu vergleichen die die Teamarbeit mit modernen Arbeitsweisen bietet. Ersteres ist weniger schwierig für die Mitarbeiter, hat aber auch weniger Wirkung. Die organisation als Team bedeutet mehr Wirkung und größeren Mehrwert durch die gemeinsame Nutzung der neuen Tools und Arbeitsweisen. Sie ist im Anfang schwieriger, erreicht aber auch weitaus mehr Wirkung. Sie führt zu mehr Transparenz und eine offenere Kommunikation im Team, die Mitarbeiter werden stärker vernetzt, was die übergreifende Zusammenarbeit intensiviert und dadurch zu höherer Schnelligkeit und Flexibilität führt. Stichwort Agilität. Informationen und Wissen werden unternehmensweit nutzbar gemacht, die Abstimmungsschleifen verkürzen sich oder fallen ganz weg.

Ihre Erfahrung im Projekt NEXT ist, dass es sehr wichtig ist, den Nutzen für den Mitarbeiter in den Vordergrund zu stellen. Man muss mutig sein, und den Menschen etwas zutrauen. Die Führungskräfte müssen von Anfang an aktiv integriert werden. Es ist wichtig, eine Vision zu haben und diese auch laufend zu kommunizieren. Zeitgleich braucht es Raum und Zeit für jeden, eigene Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Das Projektteam ist immer „drangeblieben“ und hat die Mitarbeiter aktiv begleitet.

Summa summarum: Die Einführung des digitalen Arbeitsplatzes macht man nicht mal eben „nebenbei“.

Swetlana Heidebrecht & Antonia Richter, Springer

Swetlana Heidebrecht & Antonia Richter, Springer

Der nächste von mir besuchte Vortrag – und Gewinnerinnen des Publikumsvotings „Bester Vortrag“ – kam von zwei Mitarbeiterinnen von Axel Springer, Swetlana Heidebrecht und Antonia Richter. Sie sprachen zum Thema „Deep Work – Fokussiertes Arbeiten in einer Welt voller Ablenkungen“ und damit offensichtlich vielen Anwesenden aus dem Herzen.

Nach einer sehr interessanten Darstellung einer Untersuchung, wie wir unseren Arbeitstag verbringen…

  • 85% der Zeit verbringen wir mit Kommunikation und Kollaboration (Meetings, Telefonate etc.)
  • 15% mit Arbeit
  • 25% der Leistungsfähigkeit verlieren wir durch die pure Anwesenheit des Smartphones

Etwa alle 10 min werden wir unterbrochen oder unterbrechen uns selbst.
… stellen Sie das Konzept Deep Work vor und wie sie es bei Springer ins Unternehmen gebracht haben und immer noch bringen.

Z.B. durch verschieden workhacks, die helfen, den Weg zum fokussierten Arbeiten zu finden. Ein Beispiel ist die sogenannte Pomodoro Technik (benannt nach einem Küchenwecker in Tomatenform) die die Arbeit in 25-min Schritten unterteilt und kurze Pausen dazwischensetzt. Nach vier mal 25 min folgt eine längere Pause. Diese Technik geht davon aus, dass die Pausen das Denkvermögen erhöhen.

Das fokussierte Arbeiten sollte auch in Teams stattfinden. Bei Springer werden dazu Retrospektiven abgehalten, die möglichst störungsfrei ablaufen sollten. Dazu haben sie sich auf Meetingregeln geeinigt, die die Störungen (Telefone, geöffnetes Laptop, Tippen nebenbei etc.) möglichst eliminieren, und weisen auch immer wieder auf diese Regeln hin. Auch wenn dieser Prozess manchmal nervig ist, ist er doch wichtig, um zum fokussierteren Arbeiten auch im Team zu kommen.

Peggy Kautz & Swen Göbbels, Panasonic

Peggy Kautz & Swen Göbbels, Panasonic

Es folgte ein Vortrag von den Panasonic Mitarbeitern Peggy Kautz und Swen Göbbes – 100 Jahre Panasonic, 100 Jahre BT (bevor Teams) in der Reihe Microsoft 365 Empowerment. Auch Panasonic hat ein eigenes Projekt gestartet, um den digitalen Wandel im Unternehmen zu begleiten.

Denny Phung, Heidelberger Druckmaschinen

Denny Phung, Heidelberger Druckmaschinen

Der Vortrag von Danny Phung von Heidelberger Druckmaschinen “Unsere Reise ins #digitale - Ein Reisebericht zur Digitalisierung des Arbeitsplatzes bei den Heidelberger Druckmaschinen”, beschrieb die Veränderung hin zum digitalen Arbeitsplatz als eine Reise, mit sehr verschiedenen Reisegruppen an Bord; was nebenbei bemerkt, eine sehr gelungene Metapher ist. Es sind „Globetrotter-Backpacker“, „Ich-fahre-schon-immer-dahin-Camper“, „Gibt’s-da-auch-all-inclusive-“ und „Ohne-deutschsprachige-Reiseleitung-brauchen-wir-gar-nicht-los" an Board. Um eine Veränderung erfolgreich umzusetzen, sollte der “Reiseleiter” Erfahrung haben mit Erwartungsmanagement, Motivation, Frust und Verzweiflung.

Kurzes Fazit

Dies ist eine Auswahl an Vorträgen, deren gemeinsame Stossrichtung ist, dass die Veränderung der Arbeitswelt stattfindet und wir Wege finden müssen, damit umzugehen. Der Mensch sollte dabei immer im Mittelpunkt stehen, seine Verschiedenheit, die Verschiedenheit der Prozesse und Bedürfnisse und es bedarf Zeit, Geduld und Experten um die Veränderung zu begleiten und zu implementieren.

Communardo hat auch diese Jahr wieder eine Verlosung initiiert, deren Preise man gewinnt, wenn man die Stände der Aussteller besucht. Immer eine sehr gelungene Gelegenheit mit ihnen ins Gespräch zu kommen.

Das Ende

Der Tag endete mit Fingerfood, Getränken und netten Gesprächen.

DWSC2019 Gallery

Nächster DWSC 2020

Save the date: 03.11.2020 in Frankfurt/Main