"Atlassian Cloud is not for us" - Or is it?

5 Misconceptions Regarding Atlassian Cloud
08.12.2020
Tags

At kreuzwerker we believe in the power and wonder of technology. That’s just one of the many reasons why we work with Atlassian as a Platinum Solution Partner. However, we know that non-stop technological developments can bring indecision along with numerous question marks. Combined with a lack of information, it can even lead to misinterpretations and prejudices. For instance, no matter whether it is a new customer or an existing one, we face skepticism about deploying Cloud hosting for Atlassian products. Usually, the conversation reaches an impasse with this statement: “Atlassian Cloud is not for us.” - Or is it, indeed?

Let’s take a look at the most common misconceptions regarding Atlassian Cloud and the reality beyond these arguments.

1. “It’s better for our data to stay in our server because it’s not safe in the Cloud.”

Not really. According to Multisoft, 94% of small and medium organizations discovered some security properties were available in the Cloud that they didn’t have in their on-premises platforms.[1] In addition, 91% of SMEs stated that meeting compliance requirements is more convenient with the Cloud.[2]

With Atlassian Cloud products, you can rest assured that your data is safe. Security, reliability, compliance and privacy issues for customers are handled with the utmost care by establishing those issues into the products and processes. Atlassian requires compliance certifications and privacy practices to secure and protect your data.

In some cases, we understand that specific business requirements might prevent companies from operating in the Cloud. Of course, we will continue to offer a robust self-managed edition, a.k.a. Atlassian Data Center, for these customers. On the other hand, one of the fundamental blockers for these organizations is about security and safety. Atlassian Cloud Enterprise will come with strengthened security and control elements, e.g., Enterprise includes the option to choose and view where your data is hosted (in a first iteration you can choose between US & EU).[3]

2. “We are a big company and the Cloud is not enough for us."

Nope, we don’t agree. According to Forbes, 77% of large companies have at least one application in the Cloud and technology-dependent industries are facing considerable pressure from top management to become 100% Cloud-established.[4] Moreover, in the Atlassian perspective, 83% of the Fortune 500 companies use at least one Cloud product.[5] Based on the Atlassian Premium and Enterprise plans, we can offer enterprise-level security, control and flexibility for big companies so that we can improve your business with the Cloud hosting effectively and efficiently.

Enterprise Image, Blog post:“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?
_Image Source: Atlassian [6]

3. “Cloud deployment is more expensive than on-premise options.”

When you consider the invisible costs, this claim becomes an argument for the sake of argument. A recent study shows that cost-saving is the biggest motivation for 38.8% of C-level executives to migrate to the Cloud.[7] Generally, the total cost of ownership (TCO) is less for the Cloud than for server or data center options. For instance, deploying the Cloud infrastructure decreases in-house IT system costs by up to 94%.[8] Since Atlassian Cloud hosts, stores and maintains your data for you, you don’t need to think about setup and maintenance expenses.

TCO Atlassian Cloud Image, Blog post: :“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?

_Image Source: Atlassian [9]

Furthermore, updates are automatically installed in your Cloud products so that your team is always up-to-date with the latest features, bug fixes and security patches.

4. “Our company cannot cope with the migration process because migration to the Cloud is not flexible enough for us.”

There are many things to be worked out when migrating your data from on-premises to the Cloud - we don’t want to sugarcoat it. But don’t worry, you will never walk alone! Thanks to Atlassian’s responsive migration tools, you are able to migrate to the Cloud step-by-step and at your own pace. Actually, there are various ways to move your data. Atlassian offers you to choose the approach that’s best for your organization.

Migration Paths Image, Blog post: :“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?

_Image Source: Atlassian [10]

Also, there are a couple of free tools that you can benefit from while moving your data. To be more specific, the “Jira Cloud Migration Assistant” helps you to migrate your data project-by-project, while the “Confluence Cloud Migration Assistant” allows you to migrate users, groups, spaces and attachments over time.

Last but not least, to see how good the Cloud deployment fits your organization, you can use “Extended Cloud trial licenses” without paying extra money for another license.

5. “Apps cannot be migrated to the Cloud because they are not available in the Cloud.”

Well, that’s not true. There are almost 4,000 apps and integrations on the Atlassian Marketplace and over 1,000 of them are already available in the Cloud. Particularly, more than 250 Cloud apps and integrations were added to Atlassian Marketplace last year.[11]Every day, app developers are building even more apps for Cloud deployment.

Cloud Apps Image, Blog post: :“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?

_Image Source: Atlassian[12]

Nearly all of the most beloved on-premises apps already have Cloud versions. If your on-premises app is not on the Cloud yet, you can contact the app vendor at any time to ask whether they will make an offer for the Cloud support or not. Alternatively, you may consider other apps on Atlassian Marketplace that achieve similar functionality.

So, what now?

As one of the Atlassian company values states: “Be the change you seek.”[13]However, if you are curious to learn more about Atlassian Cloud or you have already set your mind to migrate to the Cloud, then we look forward to hearing from you. Contact our Atlassian Experts to achieve great accomplishments together for your core business!


Header Image: Kenrick Mills unsplash


  1. Elearning Infographics

  2. Salesforce

  3. Atlassian Cloud Data Residency

  4. Forbes

  5. Atlassian Cloud Premium

  6. Atlassian Enterprise

  7. Enterprisers Project

  8. OpsRamp

  9. Atlassian Cloud Migration

  10. Atlassian Cloud Migration Models

  11. Atlassian Community

  12. Atlassian Marketplace

  13. Atlassian Company Values

„Die Atlassian Cloud ist nichts für uns“ – oder vielleicht doch?

5 Missverständnisse rund um die Atlassian Cloud
08.12.2020
Tags

Wir kreuzwerker glauben an technische Innovationen. Unter anderem aus diesem Grund arbeiten wir mit Atlassian als Platinum Solution Partner zusammen. Uns ist bewusst, dass durch die kontinuierliche technologische Entwicklung auch viele Zweifel und Fragen aufkommen können. Fehlt es dazu noch an Informationen, können schnell Missverständnisse und Vorurteile gegenüber neuen Produkten aufkommen. So stehen viele unserer Kunden der Bereitstellung von Cloud Hosting für Atlassian-Produkte skeptisch gegenüber. In der Regel landet man irgendwann bei der Aussage „Die Atlassian Cloud ist nichts für uns.“ – Ist sie es vielleicht doch?

Werfen wir einen Blick auf die häufigsten Missverständnisse und Vorurteile gegenüber der Atlassian Cloud – und die Realität jenseits davon.

1. „Unsere Daten lassen wir lieber auf unserem Server, denn in der Cloud sind sie nicht sicher.“

Das ist nicht richtig. Laut Multisoft geben 94 Prozent der kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) an, dass die Cloud einige Sicherheitseigenschaften bietet, die auf firmeninternen Plattformen nicht verfügbar sind.[1] Zudem sagen 91% Prozent der KMU, dass Compliance-Anforderungen in der Cloud besser zu handeln sind.[2]

Sie können sich darauf verlassen, dass Ihre Daten mit den Cloud-Produkten von Atlassian sicher sind. Aspekte der Sicherheit, der Zuverlässigkeit, der Compliance und des Datenschutzes werden bei Atlassian mit größter Sorgfalt behandelt und in die Produkte und Prozesse integriert. Die erforderlichen Compliance- und Datenschutz-Zertifizierungen sorgen dafür, Ihre Daten zu schützen.

Einige Unternehmen entscheiden sich aufgrund ihrer spezifischen Geschäftsanforderungen dagegen, in der Cloud zu operieren. Für diese Kunden bieten wir natürlich auch weiterhin eine robuste selbstverwaltete Version an – Atlassian Data Center. Nichtsdestotrotz stellt das Thema Sicherheit für diese Unternehmen ein Grundproblem dar. Atlassian Cloud Enterprise wird mit verstärkten Sicherheits- und Kontrollelementen ausgestattet sein, etwa mit der Auswahloption, wo Ihre Daten gehostet werden (in einer ersten Iteration können Sie zwischen USA und EU wählen).[3]

2. „Wir sind ein großes Unternehmen und die Cloud reicht uns nicht."

Dem müssen wir entgegenhalten: Laut Forbes verfügen 77 Prozent aller großen Unternehmen über mindestens eine Cloud-Anwendung. Technologieabhängige Branchen sehen sich einem erheblichen Druck ausgesetzt, sich zu 100 Prozent in der Cloud zu etablieren.[4] Darüber hinaus nutzen 83 Prozent der Fortune-500-Unternehmen mindestens ein Cloud-Produkt.[5] Mit Atlassian Premium and Enterprise bieten wir großen Unternehmen Sicherheit, Kontrolle und Flexibilität, um ihre Geschäfte mit Cloud-Hosting effektiver und effizienter gestalten zu können.

Enterprise Image, Blog post:“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?
Bildquelle: Atlassian [6]

3. „Cloud-Hosting ist teurer als On-Premise.“

Betrachtet man die versteckten Kosten, die bei On-Premise-Lösungen anfallen, ist diese Behauptung haltlos. In einer kürzlich durchgeführten Studie gaben 38,8 Prozent der Geschäftsführer an, dass ihre größte Motivation, zur Cloud zu migrieren, Kosteneinsparungen seien.[7] Im Allgemeinen sind die Gesamtbetriebskosten für die Cloud geringer als für Server- oder Rechenzentrumsoptionen. Die Bereitstellung der Cloud-Infrastruktur senkt beispielsweise die internen IT-Systemkosten um bis zu 94 Prozent.[8] Da die Atlassian Cloud Ihre Daten für Sie hostet, speichert und pflegt, brauchen Sie nicht über Einrichtungs- oder Wartungskosten nachzudenken.

TCO Atlassian Cloud Image, Blog post: :“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?
Bildquelle: Atlassian [9]

Darüber hinaus werden Updates automatisch in Ihren Cloud-Produkten installiert, sodass Ihr Team in Sachen Funktionen, Fehlerbehebung und Sicherheitspatches immer auf dem neuesten Stand ist.

4. „Unser Unternehmen kann den Migrationsprozess nicht bewältigen, weil er für uns nicht flexibel genug ist.“

Es gibt viele Dinge, die bei der Migration Ihrer Daten in die Cloud bedacht und ausgearbeitet werden müssen – das ist wohl wahr. Aber machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, wir lassen Sie dabei nicht allein! Dank der responsiven Migrationstools von Atlassian können Sie Schritt für Schritt und in Ihrem eigenen Tempo in die Cloud umziehen. Unter den verschiedenen Optionen, Ihre Daten zu migrieren, wählt Atlassian die für Ihr Unternehmen am besten geeignete Lösung aus.

Migration Paths Image, Blog post: :“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?
Bildquelle: Atlassian [10]

Zudem können Sie eine Reihe kostenloser Tools nutzen, um Ihre Daten zu überführen. Der Jira Cloud Migration Assistant hilft Ihnen dabei, Ihre Daten projektweise zu migrieren, während Sie mit dem Confluence Cloud Migration Assistant Ihre User, Gruppen, Räume und Anhänge nach und nach übertragen können.

Nicht zuletzt können Sie ohne zusätzliche Kosten mit den Extended Cloud Trial Licenses überprüfen, wie gut die gewählte Cloud-Bereitstellung zu Ihrem Unternehmen passt.

5. „Apps können nicht in die Cloud migriert werden, da sie dort nicht verfügbar sind.“

Nun, das ist nicht wahr. Heute verfügt der Atlassian Marketplace über fast 4.000 Apps und Integrationen, von denen über 1.000 bereits in der Cloud verfügbar sind. Im vergangenen Jahr kamen mehr als 250 Cloud-Apps und -Integrationen hinzu – jeden Tag werden neue Apps für den Einsatz in der Cloud entwickelt. [11]

Cloud Apps Image, Blog post: :“Atlassian Cloud is not for us” - Or is it?
Bildquelle: Atlassian [12]

Fast alle der beliebtesten Server-Apps haben bereits Cloud-Versionen. Sollte Ihre firmeninterne Anwendung noch nicht in der Cloud verfügbar sein, können Sie den entsprechenden Anbieter jederzeit nach einem Angebot für die Cloud-Unterstützung ersuchen. Alternativ können Sie andere Apps vom Atlassian Marketplace in Betracht ziehen, die ähnliche Funktionen bieten.

Und nun?

Ein Motto der Atlassian Company lautet: „Lebe die Veränderung, die du anstrebst.“[13] Wenn Sie neugierig geworden sind und mehr über die Atlassian Cloud erfahren möchten oder sich bereits für den Umzug in die Cloud entschieden haben, freuen wir uns darauf, von Ihnen zu hören. Kontaktieren Sie unsere Atlassian Experten, damit wir gemeinsam am Erfolg Ihres Kerngeschäfts arbeiten können!


Titelbild: Kenrick Mills unsplash


  1. Elearning Infographics

  2. Salesforce

  3. Atlassian Cloud Data Residency

  4. Forbes

  5. Atlassian Cloud Premium

  6. Atlassian Enterprise

  7. Enterprisers Project

  8. OpsRamp

  9. Atlassian Cloud Migration

  10. Atlassian Cloud Migration Models

  11. Atlassian Community

  12. Atlassian Marketplace

  13. Atlassian Company Values