Now You Can Choose Where Your Atlassian Cloud Data is Hosted

5 Important Must-Knows Regarding Data Residency
30.08.2021
Tags

Exciting news for all people working with Atlassian tools: you can now benefit from data residency even if you have the Standard or Premium Cloud plans in place - without any additional payment! Your data can be stored in Frankfurt am Main and as a backup in Dublin.

Why is it exciting, you ask? As you all may have heard, towards the end of last year, Atlassian made an announcement about the Server product line which will be discontinued on February 2, 2024. One of the motivations for Atlassian’s decision was and is to accelerate the journey to the Cloud. And there are many good reasons why companies should consider a move to the Cloud.

If you’re thinking of moving to the Atlassian Cloud, you must have the support of a qualified Atlassian Platinum Solution Partner such as kreuzwerker. We are here and happy to help you on your journey to the Cloud with our experienced consultants who have already migrated numerous instances successfully. Do not hesitate to contact us.

To give a bit more understanding to the Atlassian Cloud before diving into the details of data residency, we would like to briefly talk about its various benefits in terms of extensibility, productivity, as well as data and insights:

  • Extensibility: Atlassian Cloud is extensible because “Cloud-only” and “better-in-Cloud” integrations enable users to move faster with less context switching.
  • Productivity: Atlassian Cloud is productive because machine learning provides users with personalized and predictive experiences with mobile and desktop apps.
  • Data & Insights: Atlassian Cloud is good at data and insights because it offers a clear understanding of your business data with flexible dashboards and reports.

While Atlassian Cloud has many more advantages, such as decrease in total cost of ownership and increase in scalability and agility, many users had, and still have, questions about their data security if they migrate to the Cloud. Especially in Europe. No matter if it is a small company or a large enterprise, there are many compliance regulations regarding data protection and being in charge of your own data. To empower Cloud users, data residency has already been integrated into Enterprise Cloud plan, which allows users to control where their product data are hosted.

As kreuzwerker, we decided to provide a few Q&As to clear up any issues you might have. So, let’s take a look at the frequently confused matters regarding data residency of Atlassian Cloud in the EU.

1. What exactly does data residency mean? Do I even need it?

Thanks to data residency, you have control over where your in-scope data for Jira Software, Jira Service Management and Confluence is stored. Basically, it lets you pick whether it is allocated worldwide or kept in a specific geographic region. Depending on your industry, data residency may be required for utilizing the Atlassian Cloud. For example, if you work in a regulated sector such as banking, healthcare or government, data residency is a must in most cases.[1]

2. Which in-scope data can I decide where to host?

Regarding data residency, here is the list of which data you can govern in your Atlassian products:

Jira Software Jira Service Management Confluence
  • All attachments
  • Data in boards and sprints
  • Comments
  • Notification data in the product
  • Jira issues and field content including system and custom fields
  • Search data in Jira
  • Project configuration data including workflows, custom field configurations and board configurations
  • All attachments
  • Comments
  • Notification data in the product
  • Insight object data and schema configuration data
  • Jira issues, request types, and field content including system and custom fields
  • Search data in Jira
  • Project configuration data including workflows and custom field configurations
  • Queue data
  • All attachments
  • Comments
  • Notification data in the product
  • Confluence page and blog data
  • Page and comment likes
  • Page metadata
  • Source data for notifications in emails

However, some data types are not included in data residency for now. For example, product analytics data is out-of-scope data since Atlassian hosts them around the world to provide performance requirements of the users. For further details, you can always visit the Atlassian Trust Center which is a great, curated place for additional information or contact us with your questions: atlassian@kreuzwerker.de.[2]

3. When and how can I start using data residency on my Atlassian Cloud products? Do I have to pay extra for this service?

For the Enterprise plan: As we mentioned before, you can already use data residency in this plan.

For Standard and Premium plans:

  • Starting from June 30, 2021, new users are provided with the data residency functionality automatically,
  • Starting from October 2021, existing users with data already in Atlassian Cloud will be provided with this functionality automatically.

And no, you don’t have to pay extra for data residency because it is a native feature in Standard and Premium Cloud plans.[3]

4. Where is my data geographically located in Europe?

Atlassian works with Amazon Web Services (AWS) to host your in-scope data. Currently, available AWS regions and corresponding locations in Europe are in Frankfurt, Germany and in Dublin, Ireland.[4]

5. Does data residency also include Atlassian Marketplace apps?

Not at the moment. Since Atlassian Marketplace apps consist of third-party app vendors, data residency is not yet available for these apps. But, Atlassian is working on this issue with the app vendors so that it will soon be possible to choose the location where you want your app data to be stored. Stay tuned![5]

So, shall we discuss your journey to Atlassian Cloud?

With the improvement of data residency, Atlassian has reached another milestone on the Cloud Roadmap. As an interesting addition, Atlassian is planning to invest in BaFin compliance for Cloud versions of Jira Software and Confluence in order to carry out regulations required by EU financial services industry. In 2022, it will be possible for organizations in banking and insurance industries to deploy Atlassian Cloud more conveniently.[6]

Now that you can choose where to host your Cloud data with Atlassian, let’s talk about your journey to Atlassian Cloud. Contact the Atlassian Experts at kreuzwerker to learn more about data residency and how we can adapt it to your business. Moreover, migrating to the Atlassian Cloud is not always easy. Atlassian has provided a Cloud Migration Assistant, but this is not sufficient in all cases - especially with complex setups and many individual customizations. So talk to our migration experts - We’re here to help. As a Platinum Solution Partner for many years, we work closely with Atlassian and many well-known app vendors in order to pave the way for you. Together, we can achieve great accomplishments for your core business by advancing the Cloud technology!


1,2,4 Atlassian Support: Understand Data Residency
3,5 Atlassian: Data Residency
6 Atlassian Cloud Roadmap

Ab sofort entscheiden Sie, wo Ihre Atlassian-Daten gehostet werden

5 wichtige Informationen zum Thema Datenresidenz
30.08.2021
Tags

Gute Neuigkeiten für alle, die mit Atlassian-Tools arbeiten: Ab sofort können Sie auch mit einer Standard- oder Premium-Lizenz Ihre Datenresidenz frei wählen – ohne zusätzliche Kosten! Ihre Daten können in Frankfurt am Main und als Back-up in Dublin gespeichert werden.

Warum das so toll ist? Nun, bestimmt haben Sie schon davon gehört, dass Atlassian Ende letzten Jahres angekündigt hat, seine Server-Produktreihe zum 2. Februar 2024 einzustellen. Einer der Beweggründe von Atlassian für diese Entscheidung ist, dadurch den Weg in die Cloud zu beschleunigen. Zudem gibt es viele gute Gründe, weshalb Unternehmen einen Wechsel in die Cloud erwägen sollten.

Wenn Sie überlegen, in die Atlassian Cloud zu wechseln, brauchen Sie die Unterstützung eines qualifizierten Atlassian Platinum Solution Partners wie kreuzwerker. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne auf Ihrem Weg in die Cloud – mit unseren erfahrenen Berater’innen, die bereits zahlreiche Instanzen erfolgreich migriert haben. Zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren.

Um Ihnen die Atlassian Cloud ein wenig näherzubringen, bevor wir uns mit den Details der Datenresidenz beschäftigen, möchten wir kurz ihre Vorteile in Bezug auf Erweiterbarkeit, Produktivität sowie Daten & Einblicke zusammenfassen:

  • Erweiterbarkeit: Atlassian Cloud ist erweiterbar, da “Cloud-only”- und “better-in-Cloud”-Integrationen es Nutzer’innen ermöglichen, schneller und mit weniger Kontextwechseln zu arbeiten.
  • Produktivität: Atlassian Cloud ist produktiv, weil maschinelles Lernen Nutzer’innen personalisierte und prädiktive Erfahrungen mit mobilen und Desktop-Apps bietet.
  • Daten & Einblicke: Atlassian Cloud ist vorteilhaft für Daten & Einblicke, da es Ihnen klare Einblicke in Ihre Geschäftsdaten anhand flexibler Dashboards und Reports verschafft.

Trotzdem die Atlassian Cloud diese und viele weitere Vorteile bietet – etwa, die Kosten zu senken sowie die Skalierbarkeit und Agilität zu erhöhen –, sorgen sich viele Nutzer’innen um die Datensicherheit, wenn sie in die Cloud migrieren. Besonders in Europa. Für kleine Firmen wie für große Unternehmen existieren jede Menge Compliance-Vorschriften in Bezug auf Datenschutz und die Verantwortung für die eigenen Daten. Um Cloud-Nutzer’innen hier zu unterstützen, wurde die Datenresidenz bereits in den Enterprise Cloud Plan integriert – dieser stellt sicher, dass Sie immer wissen, wo ihre Produktdaten gehostet werden.

Wir kreuzwerker haben beschlossen, Ihnen einige oft gestellte Fragen und unsere Antworten bereitzustellen. Werfen wir also einen Blick auf die häufig verwirrenden Aspekte der Datenresidenz der Atlassian Cloud in der EU.

1. Was genau bedeutet Datenresidenz? Brauche ich die überhaupt?

Dank der Datenresidenz haben Sie die Kontrolle darüber, wo Ihre In-Scope-Daten für Jira Software, Jira Service Management und Confluence gehostet werden. Grundsätzlich können Sie wählen, ob die Daten weltweit zugewiesen oder in einer bestimmten geografischen Region gespeichert werden. Abhängig von Ihrer Branche kann eine Datenresidenz für die Nutzung der Atlassian Cloud erforderlich sein. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel im Banken- oder Gesundheitswesen oder in der Regierung arbeiten, ist Datenresidenz meist obligatorisch.[1]

2. Für welche Daten kann ich die Datenresidenz wählen?

Im Folgenden haben wir für Sie aufgelistet, welche Daten Ihrer Atlassian-Produkte Sie bezüglich Datenresidenz verwalten können:

Jira Software Jira Service Management Confluence
  • alle Anhänge
  • Daten in Boards und Sprints
  • Kommentare
  • Mitteilungsdaten im Produkt
  • Jira-Themen und Feldinhalte inkl. system- und benutzerdefinierte Felder
  • Suchdaten in Jira
  • Projektkonfigurationsdaten inkl. Workflows, benutzerdefinierte Feld- und Board-Einstellungen
  • alle Anhänge
  • Kommentare
  • Mitteilungsdaten im Produkt
  • Objekt- und Konfigurationsdaten
  • Jira-Themen, Anfragetypen und Feldinhalte inkl. system- und benutzerdefinierte Felder
  • Suchdaten in Jira
  • Projektkonfigurationsdaten inkl. Workflows, benutzerdefinierte Feld-Einstellungen
  • Queue-Daten
  • alle Anhänge
  • Kommentare
  • Mitteilungsdaten im Produkt
  • Confluence-, Seiten- und Blog-Daten
  • Seiten- und Kommentar-Likes
  • Seiten-Metadaten
  • Quelldaten für Benachrichtigungen in E-Mails

Einige Datentypen sind jedoch vorerst nicht in der Datenresidenz enthalten. So fallen etwa Produktanalysedaten nicht in den Geltungsbereich, da Atlassian sie weltweit hostet, um die Leistungsanforderungen der Nutzer zu erfüllen. Für weitere Details können Sie jederzeit das Atlassian Trust Center besuchen – eine gute Anlaufstelle für zusätzliche Informationen. Oder kontaktieren Sie uns: atlassian@kreuzwerker.de.[2]

3. Wann und wie kann ich die Datenresidenz für meine Atlassian-Cloud-Produkte nutzen? Muss ich für diesen Service extra bezahlen?

Enterprise Plan: Wie bereits erwähnt, können Sie Datenresidenz bereits nutzen.

Für Standard- und Premium-Tarife:

  • Ab dem 30. Juni 2021 profitieren neue Benutzer automatisch von der Datenresidenz.
  • Ab Oktober 2021 werden bestehende Abonnenten, deren Daten sich bereits in der Atlassian Cloud befinden, automatisch mit dieser Funktion ausgestattet.

Nein, Sie müssen für die Datenresidenz nicht extra bezahlen, da es sich um eine in Standard- und Premium-Cloud-Tarifen inbegriffene Funktion handelt.[3]

4. Wo in Europa befinden sich meine Daten?

Atlassian arbeitet mit Amazon Web Services (AWS) zusammen, um Ihre In-Scope-Daten zu hosten. Derzeit befinden sich die verfügbaren AWS-Regionen und die europäischen Standorte in Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland, und Dublin, Irland.[4]

5. Umfasst die Datenresidenz auch Atlassian-Marketplace-Anwendungen?

Im Moment nicht. Da Atlassian-Marketplace-Apps von Drittanbietern stammen, ist die Datenresidenz für diese Anwendungen noch nicht verfügbar. Atlassian arbeitet jedoch mit den App-Anbietern an diesem Thema, sodass es bald möglich sein wird, den Ort zu wählen, an dem Sie Ihre App-Daten speichern möchten. Wir werden Sie darüber informieren.[5]

… sollen wir mal über Ihre Reise in die Atlassian Cloud sprechen?

Mit der Wahlmöglichkeit der Datenresidenz hat Atlassian einen weiteren Meilenstein in der Cloud-Roadmap erreicht. Als interessante Ergänzung plant Atlassian, in die BaFin-Compliance für die Cloud-Versionen von Jira Software und Confluence zu investieren, um die von der EU-Finanzdienstleistungsbranche geforderten Vorschriften zu erfüllen. Im Jahr 2022 werden Unternehmen der Banken- und Versicherungsbranche die Atlassian Cloud komfortabler einsetzen können.[6]

Da Sie nun wählen können, wo Sie Ihre Cloud-Daten mit Atlassian hosten – lassen Sie uns über Ihre Reise in die Atlassian Cloud sprechen! Wenden Sie sich an unsere Atlassian-Expert’innen von kreuzwerker, um mehr über Datenresidenz zu erfahren und darüber zu sprechen, wie Sie sie optimal für Ihr Unternehmen nutzen können. Zudem ist die Migration zur Atlassian Cloud nicht immer einfach. Atlassian stellt zwar einen Cloud-Migrationsassistenten zur Verfügung, dieser reicht aber nicht immer aus – insbesondere bei komplexen Set-ups und vielen individuellen Anpassungen. Darum: Sprechen Sie mit unseren Migrationsexpert’innen. Wir sind für Sie da! Als langjähriger Platinum Solution Partner arbeiten wir eng mit Atlassian und vielen namhaften App-Anbietern zusammen, um Ihnen den Weg zu ebnen. Gemeinsam können wir durch die Nutzung der Cloud-Technologie Großes für Ihr Unternehmen erreichen!


1,2,4: Atlassian Support: Understand Data Residency
3,5: Atlassian: Data Residency
6: Atlassian Cloud Roadmap