Atlassian Cloud clears another GDPR compliance hurdle

Thanks to Atlassian'sdecision to offer Data Residency in all paid plans (Standard, Premium, Enterprise) at no additional cost, users will soon be able to choose where their data is stored and processed.
04.03.2021
Tags

As part of its Cloud Roadmap, Atlassian announced at the beginning of the year that it would be adding data residency functions - i.e. control over the region in which data is stored - to its own Cloud offerings of Jira Core, Jira Software, Jira Service Management and Confluence Cloud in the Standard and Premium versions.

It was unannounced when the change would be implemented, and whether this would be offered as a paid extension. Today, Atlassian officially announced that Data Residency will be included in all paid plans (Standard, Premium, Enterprise) at no additional cost.

Data Residency is already available in Enterprise plans, and will be available between May and September 2021 for Standard and Premium.

When the Privacy Shield became invalid last summer, the verification of all data transfers to third countries - mostly based on an individual data protection impact assessment - became more complicated for many companies. The decision to offer Data Residency in all paid plans (Standard, Premium, Enterprise) at no additional cost now allows users to determine the storage and processing location of the data themselves. This eliminates the need for transfer to third countries and greatly simplifies auditing and risk assessment.

At the same time, Atlassian has reaffirmed the implementation of data residency controls for Marketplace vendors on the “Data Residency for Apps” Cloud roadmap. And it urges all Marketplace vendors to extend their apps so that they allow data residency controls and follow the host product’s setting.

Another positive announcement is that Atlassian Forge is going live. Atlassian Forge is a platform that allows the customized implementation of Cloud offerings and is subject to the same data protection requirements of the host products - “hosted by Atlassian”.

We are very pleased with Atlassian’s decision as it paves the way to the Atlassian Cloud for many German and European customers.

If you need support with the migration to the Atlassian Cloud, please contact us! We would be more than happy to assist you with data protection and a business and technical evaluation. Should you not yet be able to migrate to the Cloud for any reason, we are also available to advise and support.

Did you know that you can also purchase Atlassian Cloud licenses at attractive conditions through us? No? Contact us today. We would be happy to make you a non-binding offer.


Cover Photo Nick Scheerbart on Unsplash

Atlassian Cloud nimmt weitere Hürde bei der DSGVO Konformität

Mit der Entscheidung Data Residency in allen bezahlten Plänen ohne Zusatzkosten anzubieten, steht den Nutzern bald die Möglichkeit frei, den Speicher- & Verarbeitungsort der Daten selbst zu bestimmen
04.03.2021
Tags

Bereits zu Beginn des Jahres hat Atlassian im Rahmen seiner Cloud Roadmap angekündigt, die eigenen Cloud Angebote Jira Core, Jira Software, Jira Service Management und Confluence Cloud in den Varianten Standard und Premium um Funktionen zur Data Residency - also die Kontrolle darüber in welcher Region Daten vorgehalten werden - zu erweitern.

Offen blieb bisher, wann die Änderung umgesetzt wird und ob dies gegebenenfalls als kostenpflichtige Erweiterung angeboten wird. Atlassian hat heute offiziell bekannt gegeben, dass Data Residency in allen bezahlten Plänen (Standard, Premium, Enterprise) ohne zusätzliche Kosten enthalten sein wird.

In Enterprise Plänen ist Data Residency bereits jetzt verfügbar, für Standard und Premium wird dies zwischen Mai und September 2021 der Fall sein.

Seit der Invalidierung des Privacy Shields im Sommer letzten Jahres ist die Prüfung aller Datentransfers in Drittländer - meist auf Basis einer individuellen Datenschutzfolgeabschätzung - für viele Unternehmen aufwändiger geworden. Mit der Entscheidung Data Residency in allen bezahlten Plänen (Standard, Premium, Enterprise) ohne Zusatzkosten anzubieten, steht den Nutzern nun die Möglichkeit frei, den Speicher- und Verarbeitungsort der Daten selbst zu bestimmen. Ein Transfer in Drittländer ist damit nicht mehr erforderlich und erleichtert die Prüfung und Risikobewertung erheblich.

Atlassian hat im gleichen Zuge die Umsetzung von Data Residency Controls für Marketplace Anbieter bekräftigt - hier auf der Cloud Roadmap zu finden “Data Residency for Apps” - und alle Marketplace Anbieter aufgefordert ihre Apps entsprechend zu erweitern, sodass diese Data Residency Controls erlauben und die Einstellung des Host-Produktes befolgen.

Ebenfalls positiv ist die Ankündigung Atlassian Forge produktiv zu nehmen. Mit Atlassian Forge steht nun eine Plattform bereit, welche es erlaubt, Anpassungen der Cloud Angebote umzusetzen, welche den gleichen Datenschutzanforderungen wie die Host-Produkte unterliegen - “hosted by Atlassian”.

Wir begrüßen die Entscheidung von Atlassian und freuen uns, dass damit der Weg in die Atlassian Cloud für viele deutsche und europäische Kunden weiter geebnet wird.

Sollten Sie Unterstützung bei der Migration in die Atlassian Cloud benötigen, sprechen Sie uns an! Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der datenschutzrechtlichen, fachlichen und technischen Bewertung.
Sollten Sie aufgrund anderer Anforderungen noch nicht in die Cloud migrieren können, stehen wir Ihnen natürlich auch mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Wussten Sie schon, dass Sie Ihre Atlassian Cloud Lizenzen zu attraktiven Konditionen über uns beziehen können? Nein? Melden Sie sich noch heute bei uns. Wir erstellen Ihnen gerne ein unverbindliches Angebot.


Cover Photo Nick Scheerbart on Unsplash