sea chefs supplies passengers with the help of Jira

A Jira-based purchase order broker is now a part of sea chefs' supply chain
18.02.2022

With the combination of standard procurement software and the flexible Jira-based purchase order broker, sea chefs can continue its fast growth, and accomplish full transparency in its interactions with vendors. The flexibility of Jira allows for fast modifications and adaptation to new and international suppliers.

Abstract

The sea chefs group of companies with its head office in Switzerland is one of the cruise industry’s worldwide leading service providers. It offers hotel, restaurant and crew management for both ocean-going and river cruise vessels.

Currently, sea chefs has approximately 15,000 employees on board the more than 50 ocean-going and river cruise vessels they manage, plus 180 employees at the various sea chefs offices in Basel and Zug in Switzerland, Limassol in Cyprus, Valletta in Malta, as well as Hamburg and Berlin in Germany.

sea chefs is working on the efficient implementation and realization of the ideas and plans developed in close cooperation with its business partners and customers on the seven seas and in addition to various rivers in Europe and Asia.

Challenge

sea chefs provides hotel operation services for more than 50 ocean-going and river cruise vessels. An important part of ensuring day-to-day hotel operations is the management of the supply chain for the vessels.

With ships all around the globe that are constantly changing itineraries, the challenge to ensure a working supply chain is tremendous.

Solution

kreuzwerker, one of Germany’s leading Atlassian Platinum Solution partners, has helped sea chefs implement a flexible and centralized procurement platform in which Jira acts as the broker between the central procurement software and global suppliers. This set-up provides a flexible foundation to the ever-changing needs of sea chef’s procurement process.

Sea chefs procurement officers (based in Hamburg and Cyprus) use purpose-built tools to issue purchase orders from the central procurement system via Jira to the various international suppliers. Jira is then used to exchange and update information related to such purchase orders providing a full audit trail on all interactions with the supplier.

Therefore, sea chefs and kreuzwerker held various workshops to align future data structure that would fit both source and target systems. After the data structure was set, kreuzwerker’s technical experts utilized Jira’s REST API to set up an automated data exchange between the source systems and Jira itself, while kreuzwerker’s Atlassian Implementation Specialists configured the necessary changes in Jira.

The process itself is designed around two major use cases: management of the internal procurement from vessels to sea chefs procurement, as well as the handling of vendors and logistics.

In a nutshell, we utilized Jira Software and certain apps from the Atlassian marketplace to:

  • create necessary templates (Purchase Order as PDF for the vendors + Excel list of products, delivery information, daily report) with Xporter by Xpand IT,
  • orchestrate email communication between the various stakeholders fully automated with “Email This Issue for Jira” by META-INF,
  • customize workflows for incoming orders that include validation upon reception (missing info, wrong email format, etc) with Scriptrunner by Adaptavist,
  • automate workflows wherever possible to reduce manual efforts with Scriptrunner,
  • generate documents based on templates automatically with Xporter,
  • configure scheduled reports sent to different logistic companies

The solution is a kreuzwerker managed service in AWS. This Cloud offer allows customers to conveniently benefit from the Atlassian Data Center and Server products. We manage the complete stack and ensure that everything is up and running smoothly, and GDPR compliant in ISO27001 certified data centers.

Benefits

Digitizing another part of the supply chain with Jira, improved everyday business operations as currently:

  • ~200 orders are sent automatically to Jira per day
  • 20-30 comments by suppliers per day
  • ~600 documents generated automatically in various formats per day

Has this use case made you curious? kreuzwerker is your Atlassian Platinum Solution Partner Enterprise - get in contact with us now via atlassian.kreuzwerker.de to discuss your case. We will support you in digitizing your processes with Jira and other Atlassian applications. We look forward to hearing from you.

The sea chefs group of companies with its head office in Switzerland is one of the cruise industry’s worldwide leading service providers. It offers hotel, restaurant and crew management for both ocean-going and river cruise vessels.

Currently, sea chefs has approximately 15,000 employees on board the more than 50 ocean-going and river cruise vessels they manage, plus 180 employees at the various sea chefs offices in Basel and Zug in Switzerland, Limassol in Cyprus, Valletta in Malta, as well as Hamburg and Berlin in Germany.

sea chefs is working on the efficient implementation and realization of the ideas and plans developed in close cooperation with its business partners and customers on the seven seas and in addition to various rivers in Europe and Asia.

sea chefs versorgt Passagiere mit der Hilfe von Jira

Ein Jira-basierter Bestellungsbroker gehört ab sofort zur Wertschöpfungskette von sea chefs
18.02.2022

Dank des Zusammenspiels einer Standard-Procurement-Software mit einem flexiblen Jira-basierten Bestellungsbroker kann sea chefs sein schnelles Wachstum fortsetzen und bei seinen Interaktionen volle Transparenz bieten. Die Flexibilität von Jira ermöglicht schnelle Anpassungen an neue, international agierende Lieferanten.

Das Unternehmen

Die sea chefs Holding AG mit Hauptsitz in der Schweiz ist einer der weltweit führenden Dienstleister in der Kreuzfahrtbranche. Sie bietet Hotel-, Gastronomie- und Crew-Management an Bord von Hochsee- und Flusskreuzfahrtschiffen.

Derzeit beschäftigt sea chefs rund 15.000 Mitarbeiter:innen an Bord von mehr als 50 Hochsee- und Flusskreuzfahrtschiffen und weitere 180 Mitarbeiter:innen in seinen Büros in Basel und Zug in der Schweiz, Limassol auf Zypern, Valletta auf Malta sowie Hamburg und Berlin in Deutschland.

sea chefs sorgt für die effiziente Realisierung der in enger Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Geschäftspartnern und Kunden entwickelten Ideen und Konzepte auf allen sieben Weltmeeren und zahlreichen Flüssen in Europa und Asien.

Die Herausforderung

sea chefs erbringt Hotel-Dienstleistungen für mehr als 50 Hochsee- und Flusskreuzfahrtschiffe weltweit. Ein wichtiger Aspekt bei der Sicherstellung des täglichen Hotelbetriebs ist die effiziente Versorgung der Schiffe.

Da die Kreuzfahrtschiffe rund um den Globus unterwegs sind und sich ihre Reiserouten ständig ändern, bedeutet es eine gewaltige Herausforderung, eine funktionierende Versorgungskette für sie zu gewährleisten.

Die Lösung

kreuzwerker, einer der führenden Atlassian Platinum Solution Partner in Deutschland, hat sea chefs bei der Implementierung einer flexiblen Procurement-Plattform unterstützt, bei der Jira als Broker zwischen der zentralen Procurement-Software und den jeweiligen globalen Lieferanten fungiert. Dieses Set-up bietet eine effektive, anpassbare Grundlage für den Beschaffungsprozess von sea chefs, der ständigen Änderungen unterworfen ist.

Die mit der Beschaffung beauftragten Mitarbeiter:innen von sea chefs (in Hamburg und auf Zypern) verwenden speziell entwickelte Tools, um Bestellungen aus dem zentralen Procurement-System an die jeweiligen internationalen Lieferanten zu übermitteln. Hierbei ist Jira für den Austausch und die Aktualisierung der Informationen rund um die Bestellungen verantwortlich, wodurch alle Interaktionen mit Lieferanten transparent und kontrollierbar sind.

sea chefs und kreuzwerker führten mehrere Workshops mit dem Ziel durch, eine Datenstruktur zu entwickeln, die sowohl zu den Quell- als auch zu den Zielsystemen passt. Nachdem diese Struktur feststand, richteten die technischen Expert:innen von kreuzwerker mit der Jira REST API einen automatisierten Datenaustausch zwischen den Quellsystemen und Jira selbst ein. kreuzwerkers Expert:innen für die Atlassian-Implementierung konfigurierten derweil notwendige Änderungen in Jira.

Der Prozess selbst ist auf zwei Hauptanwendungsfälle ausgelegt: das Management der internen Versorgung der Schiffe sowie das Handling von Lieferanten und Logistik.

Kurz gesagt nutzten wir Jira Software und verschiedene Apps vom Atlassian-Marktplatz, um:

  • notwendige Vorlagen (Purchase Order als Pdf für Lieferanten + Excel-Produktlisten, Lieferinformationen, Tagesberichte) mit Xporter von Xpand IT zu erstellen;
  • die E-Mail-Kommunikation zwischen allen Beteiligten vollautomatisch mit “Email This Issue for Jira” von META-INF zu koordinieren,
  • Workflows, die eine Validierung beim Empfang benötigen (fehlende Informationen, falsches E-Mail-Format usw.), für eingehende Bestellungen mit Scriptrunner von Adaptavist anzupassen;
  • Workflows wenn möglich zu automatisieren, um den manuellen Arbeitsaufwand mit Scriptrunner zu reduzieren,
  • Dokumente mit Vorlagen von Xporter automatisch zu erstellen;
  • zeitgesteuerte Reports, die an verschiedene Logistikunternehmen gesendet werden, zu konfigurieren.

Die Lösung wird zudem als Managed Service durch die kreuzwerker auf AWS betrieben und erlaubt so die Nutzung aller Vorteile von Atlassian Data Center- und Server-Produkten im Rahmen eines “fully managed” Cloud-Angebots, das zudem eine DSGVO-konforme Verarbeitung der Daten in ISO27001 zertifizierten Rechenzentren sicherstellt.

Der Nutzen

Durch die Digitalisierung eines weiteren Teils der Lieferkette mit Jira wurden folgende tägliche Geschäftsabläufe verbessert:

  • ~200 Bestellungen/Tag werden automatisch an Jira gesendet
  • 20–30 Kommentare von Lieferanten pro Tag
  • ~600 automatisch generierte Dokumente verschiedener Formate pro Tag

Hat Sie dieser Anwendungsfall neugierig gemacht? kreuzwerker ist Ihr Atlassian Platinum Solution Partner Enterprise – nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt mit uns via atlassian.kreuzwerker.de auf, damit wir Ihren Fall besprechen können. Wir unterstützen Sie gern bei der Digitalisierung Ihrer Prozesse mit Jira und anderen Atlassian-Anwendungen. Wir freuen uns, von Ihnen zu hören.

Die sea chefs Holding AG mit Hauptsitz in der Schweiz ist einer der weltweit führenden Dienstleister in der Kreuzfahrtbranche. Sie bietet Hotel-, Gastronomie- und Crew-Management an Bord von Hochsee- und Flusskreuzfahrtschiffen.

Derzeit beschäftigt sea chefs rund 15.000 Mitarbeiter:innen an Bord von mehr als 50 Hochsee- und Flusskreuzfahrtschiffen und weitere 180 Mitarbeiter:innen in seinen Büros in Basel und Zug in der Schweiz, Limassol auf Zypern, Valletta auf Malta sowie Hamburg und Berlin in Deutschland.

sea chefs sorgt für die effiziente Realisierung der in enger Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Geschäftspartnern und Kunden entwickelten Ideen und Konzepte auf allen sieben Weltmeeren und zahlreichen Flüssen in Europa und Asien.